Brave Reading 2015

LogoWhat’s your New Year’s resolution for 2015? If your answer is to read more books, you really are a bookworm, and one of the things we, bookworms, love is we embrace challenge. We’re like Tris, jumping down into the unknown– with no guarantee of a safe landing. Does this mean adding extra 50 books to your usual 100 books in Goodreads account? Probably! Brave Reading, however, is not like that. Let me tell you how to be a brave reader of 2015.

I am part of a book club called Book Club Without A Cool Name for a couple of years now. One of the fun that my book club do every summer and winter is to make a reading list. Not an ordinary reading list. Each members would write on a piece of paper what kind of “theme” he/she would like to read; the more random the theme, the better. Here are some examples:

  • A book with something yellow on the cover
  • A book from an author with “Alex” on his/her name
  • A book with a smiling emoji on the cover
  • A masquerade theme cover

After that, we’re going to find titles that would fit in our chosen theme.

What makes my book club fun?

Finding the books!

Sometimes, we would find out the book that we’ve listed is out of print, and it could only be found from a far away library. Sometimes, it’s not available in libraries, but Vroman’s is carrying a single copy. Getting it before the other members is like The Hunger Games That is why I jump to my greatest delight when I saw this list on my Facebook newsfeed.

Reading Challenge 2015

The list is very similar to what my book club has been doing for a long time now. Some of the books on the list are easy to find. As a matter of fact, they are already in my library. But others? A book written by an author with my same initials? Book set in my hometown? Not so easy. All I can say is good luck to me finding those books. But this is what makes it fun. The adventure! Getting those books will make me feel like Indiana Jones holding a rare relic. And I know you will also get the same feeing.

So dive into 2015 with this list. Challenge yourself. After all, reading is an adventure. Before you find a book from that list, I will tell you what Veronica Roth writes beside her autograph.

“BE BRAVE”

Books Featured:

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent by Veronica Roth

One thought on “Brave Reading 2015

  1. starkillerreads says:

    This is so perfect for a first post! I can’t wait to set out on this challenge as well! But first I have to complete my own challenge. I have to finish at least 3 books from my “currently reading” list on goodreads -____- Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

